Trashing your dress

Standard

I read about “trashing your dress” via Dahlia’s blog. This is my take on it as some brides look at it as a liberating moment from all the stresses of wedding planning. You can look at it this way, but you can also look at it as a form of extreme wedding photographer. A pitch that has made its way as a new way to showcase and archive one’s wedding memories. Since each bride has the right to do whatever they want with their gown, it does look like a complete waste considering how much time and money it can take to buy a nice gown. When money is tight on a budget, it becomes even more painful to see a bride just ruin her dress by getting it wet or dirty. You can apply the same thought to burning your bouquet, or throwing pieces of your wedding cake at each other (i.e., food fight). It’s all a personal thing. Some people don’t like it because a gown is sacred, while others see it as it’s my dress and I’ll do anything I want with it. For me, if I want to document my wedding day, I wouldn’t want to ruin my dress simply because there might be a chance one day that I’d want to sell it on eBay, or keep it as an heirloom for my daughter (i.e., future).

Leave a Reply

